HomeNews & PoliticsRelated VideosMore From: CNBC

Apple iPhone XS And iPhone XS Max Reviewed

521 ratings | 68766 views
How do Apple's new iPhones compare to the iPhone X? CNBC's Todd Haselton puts the iPhone XS and the iPhone XS Max to the test to find out. I've been testing two of Apple's three new iPhones over the past several days: the iPhone XS and the iPhone XS Max. They're the best iPhones Apple has ever made, and also the most expensive. The fully loaded iPhone XS Max with 512GB of storage costs $1,449, for example, which is more than some MacBooks. But apart from the bigger screen on the Max, I've had a hard time really noticing a huge improvement over last year's iPhone X, which I still love. And if you want to save some money, you should wait for Apple's more affordable model — the iPhone XR — which starts at $749 and launches in October. I'll dig through what you need to know about the phones, but here's the gist: they're so much like last year's iPhone X that most people probably won't be able to tell the XS and the X apart. » Subscribe to CNBC: http://cnb.cx/SubscribeCNBC About CNBC: From 'Wall Street' to 'Main Street' to award winning original documentaries and Reality TV series, CNBC has you covered. Experience special sneak peeks of your favorite shows, exclusive video and more. Connect with CNBC News Online Get the latest news: http://www.cnbc.com/ Follow CNBC on LinkedIn: https://cnb.cx/LinkedInCNBC Follow CNBC News on Facebook: http://cnb.cx/LikeCNBC Follow CNBC News on Twitter: http://cnb.cx/FollowCNBC Follow CNBC News on Google+: http://cnb.cx/PlusCNBC Follow CNBC News on Instagram: http://cnb.cx/InstagramCNBC #CNBC #Apple #iPhone Apple iPhone XS And iPhone XS Max Reviewed | CNBC
Category: News & Politics
Get embed code!
Text Comments (163)
Crazy Moe (17 days ago)
my google pixel xl lasts for 8 hrs active and it was only $350 new (got it on a deal)
Abdelaziz Riah (20 days ago)
Would you give me iPhone xs for free 🙂
cance7984 (24 days ago)
Do people honestly buy a brand new smartphone every single year? That’s insane.
วคx (27 days ago)
I'll stick with the superior Note9 512gb. Not wasting money on Apple's garbage.
Eli Yang (28 days ago)
This is NOT a review of said phones. Lol @ his comment “$999 which I think is a fair price” but any amount over is too much.
ginito (28 days ago)
look at all these fagdroid kids... LMAO they can't even afford a proper lagdroid device
Danny Nguyen (28 days ago)
It’s actually water resistant up to TWO (2) meters you stupid
Randomlautus (28 days ago)
2:22 scratches🤭
W. Kamara Njoku (28 days ago)
How is that a new’s Channel’s business?
Falc0n- The Retards (28 days ago)
This means... more money in Apple's hands!
Jamie Michels (28 days ago)
I bought the top of the line and my 512GB iPhone Max arrives tomorrow! I don’t know why there are so many Apple haters, but personally I just think that people i.e. millennials just love to b*tch about anything that costs more than a Starbucks mug. Congrats to all of you who were lucky enough like me to be getting your phone on the 21st!
Bisho Sh (28 days ago)
I saw note 9 ad before this video 🤣
Aleksandar be together not the same (28 days ago)
Only apple can sell same dumb phone with new name to stupid apple customers 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Benjamin West (28 days ago)
ummm 0:12 the black phone is cracked on the top left next to the camera
moe green (29 days ago)
Probably the funniest thing is Apple doesn't make a single thing that they sell besides the aluminum frame the stainless steel frames actually made by someone else. What a joke even though the iPhone says apple on it Samsung is probably making more money on it.
moe green (29 days ago)
The iPhone 10 was the best smartphone you could buy last year are you smoking crack. The S9 Plus had a better display rated by displaymate had better cameras rated by dxo benchmark was higher benchmarks in antutu which is real world usage and could do quite a few more things than me iPhone 10 so you sir are very bias. Really sounds like apple paid you to do this review
Carrboro_Chapelhill Fpv (29 days ago)
wow, stay in your dream world and never compare it to a samsung note 9. max is 1400 note 9 512 is 1200 and specs way above. Oh, and why do you pay more for less? It has to be the ease of use that I will admit is nice but, can be done on an android as well. well kudos to Apple for figuring how to charge more for less.
Everett Bonds (29 days ago)
Right
Johnny T (29 days ago)
We need reviewers to talk about the pixel density of the iPhone XS Max. It has the same 458ppi as the regular size XS and X. Wouldn't it be pixelated since the screen is much larger while having a much bigger screen?
Max (29 days ago)
Why Google products work on iPhones but Apple product does not work on Android phones?
Ali Cetiner (29 days ago)
And I invite you to Huawei P20 Pro
Scar A (27 days ago)
Another trash Android device. A terrible imitation of the iPhone X.
Nicholas (29 days ago)
Not this guy again.
emersonleon85 (29 days ago)
I just bought a galaxy s9 unlocked from best buy for $600 lol I'm good... $1500????
Jay Voltron (29 days ago)
Disappointed because when they say 6.5 the notch take away so leave you with 6.3. Second the resolution on OLED on iPhone is bad you can’t watch YouTube in 1440p. Apple make a huge mistake not working with google/YouTube for the codec that allow that type of resolution. That why note9 best phone experience video watching.
Pilot Perkins (29 days ago)
Says the person who has all his money in Apple stocks. 😒
Mckenna Senay (29 days ago)
I paid 1,500$ for the updated storage #worthit
wredgefunky (29 days ago)
iPhone X has never been the best. Duh
Lamar Taylor (29 days ago)
Basic review that doesn't explain why the iPhone is a good phone. The Note 9 has been hyped as perfect but it's a 2018 phone running 2017 Android software. The Note 9 can't stream full screen on most video apps like HBO, Showtime, Cinemax, STARZ, Encore, and EPIX. The iPhone has full screen built into iOS and can stream all those apps full screen. The iPhone will also get 5 years of support compared to only 3 from Samsung. Apps and games are made for the iPhone and the Note 9 and GS9 get ports and are a lower quality...like Real Racing 3.
Franco Yauri (29 days ago)
Dumb review 👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼
FulaNgenge P (29 days ago)
Bigger screen without split screen=useless. Limit time you can get notifications=Courage. $1500=Balls. 🤦🏿‍♂️🤦🏿‍♂️
Ahm S (29 days ago)
Samsung Notes are the best in terms of quality, zero compromises like headphone jack, fingerprint etc, excellent screen and all whole package at a very reasonable price. No.1 on the planet and iphones are just dumb wastage of money now.
Tae Dreams (29 days ago)
Friday can’t come fast enough
Bird Dog (29 days ago)
toe thumb
Loki Pro Mc (29 days ago)
omg only 1500$?
Vortech City (29 days ago)
The powerful glass :)
Zi jie Lim (29 days ago)
Fasts are wrong it’s 2m under water for 30mins
Robert Hardy (29 days ago)
I'll stick with my HTC U11+ and it's fast charger, fingerprint sensor and notchless design. Oh yeah, and it's expandable storage. US$999 still a fair price? OK lol.
noor khan (29 days ago)
"iPhone was still the best phone to buy" NICE JOKE
วคx (27 days ago)
+OceanBlue I can afford one, but I won't waste money on that garbage phone. I love my more powerful Note9 512gb.
noor khan (28 days ago)
+OceanBlue you fool i used iphone 7 for 3 months and sold..just bought oneplus 6. And you don't need to be American or whatever to buy an iphone you only need money to buy. I can't see why isheeps are getting offended so easily. its okay no need to cry.😂
Andi88kc (28 days ago)
Iphone is best no doubt!
OceanBlue (29 days ago)
noor khan Can you get a new iPhone where you live?... Can you afford one?... It’s not for third world nations!
Joshua T (1 month ago)
Correction 2meters for 30 min.
Anthony (1 month ago)
Alright, Samsung it is
Stan ezen (1 month ago)
iPhone 5s here
microspect (1 month ago)
Did he say “ fair price” lolol.
microspect (1 month ago)
Jesus you’re paying for a new gaming labtop. Is it really worth it? Next year repeat, till you go broke.
Andrew Compton (29 days ago)
microspect At least it can do a lot more than a gaming laptop and is more practical to carry around.
Kristoffer Katindig (1 month ago)
IP68 rating. Should be 2 meters and not 1 meter as what you’ve said on the video. For correction, please. Thanks!
Calvin Green (1 month ago)
Kristoffer Katindig That’s what happens when you throw something together...🙄🤔
nathan kelly (1 month ago)
it 2 meters for 30 minute not 1!!!
CrocySaneiPlushie (1 month ago)
Come on slow charging😣🤦‍♂️
Andrin Hettinger (1 month ago)
1:14 *2 meters for 30 minutes ;)
DragonPupEclipse (1 month ago)
I usually wait 2 years to get a new phone. But unfortunately the price is stopping me from getting a new phone which I am not very happy. I do have the option to buy the note 9 but I am used to the Apple ecosystem. Right now I have no choice but to skip this one. I know some people will say that you pay for what you get but this time that's not the case .It does not make sense to pay $2000 for a smartphone. And quite honestly that $2000 is so much better to spend on other things. It’s an amazing phone. But the price is just too beyond ridiculous.
DragonPupEclipse (29 days ago)
Iphone Xs max cost $2000 in my country. The note 9 is cheaper than the Iphone XS max
Apple User (29 days ago)
DragonPupEclipse I am finding it hard to understand you. First, the note 9 also costs $999, second, $2000? It is $1000
Kevin Davis (1 month ago)
Great video, and an even better dog, thanks.
Jessemcgoldrick (1 month ago)
you said 1 metre water resistance it’s actually 2m.
Irfan (1 month ago)
Hay you said you were testing these phone from few days , where is test , you did not test the phone yet , no phone call , no voice quality check , no rang check , no network check WTF
L.A. Ang (1 month ago)
0:48 You actually get more screen real estate on the 6.4 inch Note9 than on the 6.5 inch iPhone XS Max, but you being from CNBC and being a not-so-smart guy, most probably will never know why.
Your Tech Expert (1 month ago)
Some one used to call larger screen smartphones as “Hummers.” ho wait! That was Steve Jobs.
Joey Okazaki (1 month ago)
Has Apple brought back the zoomed display view with the XS Max? As someone with low vision, that was a deal breaker for me with the X and why I’m still using an 8 Plus.
Christopher Oyervides (1 month ago)
This is literally a paid review lol
dashing das (1 month ago)
not 1 m 2 m correctly
coryslip (1 month ago)
Such a bad review, & one sided. The iPhone is so bad, nobodyelse on YouTube recommends it. Not even everything apple pro. Don’t get me wrong I use Mac and iPhone. From now I am changing to pc and android. Btw unsubscribes you 2. Since can’t trust this channel.
Spencer Chase (1 month ago)
Thank you for not saying “the iPhone Xs Max is HUGE” like most other people doing reviews. I switched to the iPhone 6 Plus on the first day and never looked back. Just because it’s not for everyone I think it’s odd for a reviewer to call something that’s the same size as the Plus “HUGE” like it’s a lot bigger or something haha
Finnegan Newcomb (1 month ago)
Oooo new iPhone? Oh how much does it cost? Nah, I’ll use that money on a new car.
MrWubly (1 month ago)
Very innacurate. Garbage phone, same old specs
MrWubly (1 month ago)
Apple sucks
Drannoying HV (1 month ago)
you're dumb
Faraz Younus (1 month ago)
Brahhhhh. 5w charger .... Lmao. This is a cult .... I have a 27w charger
jayo (1 month ago)
Lmao powerful glass ....no matter how you try to market it glass is still glass and it will break easily.
The Arkatek (1 month ago)
He said "WE WILL GET THE POWERFUL GLASS" LOLOLOL😁😁😂🤣🤣
Arima Kousei (1 month ago)
Isheep
The Arkatek (1 month ago)
Its sounds like APPLE PAID HIM FOR THIS REVIEW. here we go
Dr. Jekyll (1 month ago)
I already pre-order the iPhone XS Max last Friday. Coming from a 3 year old Nexus 6P I think is totally worth the update. Yes it is very expensive but I can afford it🤷 and just like Nexus 6P I'm gonna be keeping this for years. Also Apple supports their old phones for way longer than any Android phone in the market so as long as I'm getting new iOS updates I'm keeping this phone and I'm pretty sure years from now the Android phones will still not be as powerful as the A12 Bionic which is just sad.
Dr. Jekyll (28 days ago)
You people will use benchmarks when it proves your side of the argument but when it doesn't the benchmarks score don't matter. I'm not arguing with people that intellectually dishonest, bias, incapable of admitting when they're wrong, that's just a waste of time.
moe green (29 days ago)
+Dr. Jekyll in fact last year's iPhone 10 was like number 7 on the list for fastest phones.
Ayee Will (29 days ago)
+Dr. Jekyll Ehhhhhhh technically apple's chip score the highest benchmarks, but in real world test...sorry to tell you they really don't live up to the hype.
Dr. Jekyll (29 days ago)
+moe green WTF are you talking about dude? Anyone that knows anything about tech knows that apple chips are the best in the smartphone industry. There's no debate about that, if you so bias you can't see that then you're hopeless.
moe green (29 days ago)
If you actually looked at benchmarks that mattered the A11 chip was not as powerful as Snapdragon 845 you're looking at the wrong benchmark. geekbench is a CPU benchmark antutu which considers all aspects of the phone including graphics performance the 845 out performed by quite a bit. 266000 compared to 200,000 Also snapdragons 855 which comes out shortly already shows geekbench results almost as high as the A12 and it's not even optimized yet. Meaning antutu will probably be extremely higher than the A12. Actually the A12 is out performed by the 845 in graphics. So the new 855 will be a beast.
wolf hunter (1 month ago)
Does the xs max have better display better than note 9
Christopher Oyervides (1 month ago)
No lol
Grześ (1 month ago)
Justified price for an iPhone with archaic charger and old cable? Fast charging brick still hasn’t been delivered. No headphone jack dongle as well. How are u going to hook up iPhone xs to ur MacBook sir?
Uncle Daddy (1 month ago)
Next Year On Apple: iPhone XSX Max Timothy Ben John
Mingchang is a China Hou the and good Jessica (1 month ago)
I #ipad?
Matthew Bilodeau (1 month ago)
the screens are exactly the same......
keyla karina Hernandez Rattia (1 month ago)
Here is the most perspective token of 2018-2019 on www.icovilla.ru/telegram-gram
Shamar Coke (1 month ago)
Lmao who uses a 5 watt charger it’s 2018 use your iPad charger man
Some White Guy (28 days ago)
His point was that a fast charger is not included in the box, which is absolutely ridiculous for a phone this expensive.
Jdizzle (29 days ago)
Fr lmao just save that 5 watt for when you truly need it
KECHENG ZHANG (1 month ago)
🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️And since when OLED and water resistance become pros for a phone...especially we are talking a phone that cost $1000...
IceColdKilax (1 month ago)
Todd how do we accept a Review when you don't test or mention call quality or signal reception of a phone. ? No wonder tech Youtubers earn more than journalists. It takes zero education or ability to "talk" about a phones Specs and call it a "Review"
Andre Da Costa (1 month ago)
I noticed you conveniently ignored the iPhone 8 which was released alongside last years iPhone X. Is that considered old too, considered both had nearly the same tech?
Azte ka (28 days ago)
Iphone 8 plus is stronger than x, maybe i wont upgrade at all this year.
The_one cam cam (28 days ago)
Yogesh Jaiswal you should you if you liked the x and wanted a bigger version of it
Axl Strange (1 month ago)
The iphone 6 is an old phone the s8 and the x are still new phones
Yogesh Jaiswal (1 month ago)
I think that you shouldn’t upgrade from the iPhone 8/8+
jaysonrobles25 (1 month ago)
I’ll wait for the XR ☺️
rayel odom (29 days ago)
jaysonrobles25 trash phone
lvlaple4Ever (1 month ago)
0:21 "The iPhone X was still the best smartphone you could buy" HAHAHAHAHAHA. That's when I knew to stop watching this iSheep "baaaaa" and dislike the video.
Scar A (27 days ago)
Android trash user spotted here. Move on guys, these people smell like adolescent goats.
Prince Risen (28 days ago)
That’s what anyone would say and.. would.. do if they hated something.. yeah...
Dennis Xu (28 days ago)
+OceanBlue Please, we all know the US government spies on their own citizens. Deny it all you want, kid.
OceanBlue (29 days ago)
lvlaple4Ever So you probably own either a Huawei or ZTE!... Cheap Chinese crap used to spy on people and the favorite phones of the third world!
Ranalaped (29 days ago)
I feel so sorry for you... "iSheep" when 80%+ of the worlds phones are Android, who's the sheep now?
Cleanneon98 (1 month ago)
I don’t get all this Samsung vs Apple garbage people keep putting out there. You like your Android? Great use it! You want an iPhone? Awesome, use an iPhone! You guys sound like 10 year olds arguing on YouTube about whether their XBOX or PlayStation is better.
Drannoying HV (1 month ago)
It's because many people are still 10 years old mentally
Aymn Jymr (1 month ago)
عرف خر
Muktar Omer (1 month ago)
Iphone Xs is my choice best phone
J Nigel (1 month ago)
Ordered it and waiting for my phone to arrive next week. I love the fact that I just spent $1700 for a phone that I will replace next year. 😄 I will start saving for next year's iPhone, probably at $2500 dollars.
Infinite (1 month ago)
J Nigel location shouldn’t impact your delivery time too much. But yeah, since you ordered it 2 days ago, the 16th it makes sense why you didn’t get first batch. Preorders had started on the 14th at 12am. You’re lucky you even got the 24th. Previous years they sell out the same day.
J Nigel (1 month ago)
+Infinite i just ordered it 2 days ago. Maybe that's why. I also live in Hawaii. 😂
Infinite (1 month ago)
J Nigel the earliest you can get it is on launch day, the 21st. I ordered mine and I’m getting it on launch day, but I stayed up until 12 to preorder so that’s why.
J Nigel (1 month ago)
+Infinite i don't know. It says i will probably get the phone in 24. When is it supposed to arrive? Earlier? I have no idea.
Infinite (1 month ago)
J Nigel did you get second batch? Because most people got first batch including me
Comic Ninja9 (1 month ago)
No giveaway? 😥🤤
Angus's Fuzzy Blogs (1 month ago)
2:21 Woah...whats with all the scratches on the screen?
Generic User (29 days ago)
This has to be a plastic screen protector that's scratched. I know whenever Apple announce "the best ever made" it usually means catching to what Android was doing 2-3 years ago, but that'd be a new low. Then again with Apple making worst and worst product.
Angus's Fuzzy Blogs (29 days ago)
+lvlaple4Ever I think you'll find that they mean when you drop the phone.
lvlaple4Ever (29 days ago)
Apple's "most durable glass in a smartphone" scratches within less than a week. Lmao.
宋毛 (1 month ago)
My god
emily sanders (1 month ago)
Angus's Fuzzy Blogs that’s why you get a screen protector....
Акоп Алоян (1 month ago)
Okay? Are there those who are engaged in earning lots of money? I assure to buy a couple of thousands Telegram tokens and forget about them for a year or two! Incredible growth is provided www.cryptovilla.org/tokentelegram
Lena Feklistova (1 month ago)
It is time to invest in GRAM! This is the real applicant for growth in 100X this year icostarter.site/telegram
Elliot C (1 month ago)
Looks like that old joke still rings true: "How do you milk sheep? ...................... release a 1000 dollar iphone".
mel pe (1 month ago)
how do you milk critics? Release a new iPhone :)
mechravi99 ss (1 month ago)
Apple think people are idiots
Lee Smith (1 month ago)
and sadly they've been repeatedly proved right. I always say buy Apple stock and a mid range Android phone.
letsgetsocialinfo (1 month ago)
I heard the same thing last year...ill stick to my galaxy note 9.
วคx (27 days ago)
+K Jones her story proves it to be false. She said that it stopped smoking when thrown in water, yet lithium ion batteries will explode in water, so she's bullshitting.
K Jones (27 days ago)
วคx who claimed the story is not true? Did the woman finally stated that the Note 9 didn’t blow up? Or are we just coming up with our own conclusions
วคx (27 days ago)
+Generic User actually the Note9 story was fake, too.
วคx (27 days ago)
+K Jones no truthful reports of a Note9 explosion. I love sheeps who make jokes about the Note7 and look stupid for it.
Bisho Sh (28 days ago)
🤘👌🖤
Young America (1 month ago)
First one!