HomeAutos & VehiclesRelated VideosMore From: ElectricBikeReview.com

Butchers & Bicycles MK1-E Video Review - Innovative Cargo Electric Bike

1271 ratings | 138778 views
https://electricbikereview.com/butchers-bicycles/mk1-e/ The Butchers & Bicycles MK1-E is a top of the line, tadpole style cargo trike powered by the Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and an 11 speed SRAM drivetrain, optional NuVinci N360 or Harmony continuously variable transmission with Gates Carbon belt drive. The bike leans side to side so you can corner faster and avoid the two-wheel tipping experience of most other electric trikes, built in spring suspension and larger rear wheel cushion driver and cargo, puncture resistant tires reduce maintenance. Lots of cool options for the cargo box (clear cover for kids, bench seats with three-point seatbelts, infant carrier or a flat rain fly with snaps, clever cup holder "glove box" area near the handlebars locks and serves as a cover for the battery. Optional Supernova integrated lights that point where you steer, two color choices, brilliant front door system for easier loading of cargo, kids or pets (so you don't have to lift so high), the bike is cool but expensive and heavy.
Category: Autos & Vehicles
Get embed code!
Text Comments (138)
Krazy Kat cycle accomodation (9 days ago)
These electric bikes are just too over priced totally ridiculous!! And stupid. If governments want us to go electric tell these rip off bike companies to lower the prices. NOW!!
Mona Swearingen (17 days ago)
Wow, that looks amazing.
Heston B (3 months ago)
E.T. Phone home
Jja79 (5 months ago)
Can you remove the battery, to charge it up if you live in flat?
Andy Casbo (5 months ago)
5 Years searching for the perfect electric bike, this one is the winner for me.!
TheNew Tomboy (6 months ago)
Beautiful bike... But a bit over kill.. I only need something small to carry my daughtwe along with me. Great review.
IraQ Nid (6 months ago)
Custom vinyl wrap for the storage/passenger bin as well as the frame itself. A terrific way to advertise. Even pay for the trike by applying customer advertising since you'll be riding this getting all kinds of attention :)
Hi! How are You? (6 months ago)
Good luck selling it for 6 grand.
TheNew Tomboy (6 months ago)
Is this bike 6 grand? Not sure he mentioned thr price
GotWood? Bushcraft and more (6 months ago)
you said the box could carry 200 pounds, thats 90kg. then you said you had 2 grown men in it on the way there? how is 2 grown men not 90kg together? i mean i know americans are manlets but come on xD
Ayman Hassanieh (7 months ago)
Too much talking
Benny Bluee (7 months ago)
sooooo stuip to bpay $6,000 plssss
Benny Bluee (8 months ago)
$6,000 IS ALMO LIKE CAR PLS PLS WAOOO
Tanvi Barman (9 months ago)
Wow I want it ....ia it foldavle for easy carriage n storage?
Siti M (10 months ago)
Hai tolong bikini buat saya cantik benar sepeda modif nya
Le Lu Yan (11 months ago)
I have seen this bike in person and for 7k i'm not impressed by the finish. The box really looks cheap the plastic finish is quite rough, the children seat is kind of "meh".
Chris at Propel (8 months ago)
Le Lu Yan B&B worked really hard on their box and they are constantly improving it. On a bicycle made to be pedaled you need to strike a balance with weight and durability and from my perspective they’ve done a great job.
elkin barragán (1 year ago)
En que parte o por que medio se puede comprar, con envío a Colombia
Jackson Louie (1 year ago)
Wow, very cool bike!
Calixta Rangel (1 year ago)
Super Buena exelente 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟👍
carlo f (1 year ago)
Great bike, but in NYC where are you going to park it?
Chris at Propel (8 months ago)
carlo f most of our NYC customers with this bike have a small area outside their house where the lock and cover the bike. Some have garages and some even rent space in a parking garage for about $100 a month. People in NYC are creative, you kind of need to be.
Dennis Dowd (1 year ago)
Super looking. Surely more than what I would need, but gee, I love the way the wheels turns. Thanks!
Meno Passini (1 year ago)
Please do a review on the Nihola cargo bikes and the Baboee Carve it tilts too. The Carve only seems to be available in Europe. The Baboee Curve that one doesn't tilt is available here for about $2,800.00. Thanks
Eva Markiewicz (1 year ago)
A very helpful video. I’m disappointed that Butchers and Bicycles didn’t produce better videos. They are lucky to have bicycle enthusiasts like this to produce videos for them. Really impressed with this cargo bike, it could replace our 2nd car.
Cameron I (1 year ago)
Indeed. I've been in touch with them & they made a very short vid for me (of the new door latch) which I greatly appreciate, but their vids are very poor. All they do is swerve back & forth to show off the front wheels - as if that's what we're going to do when riding in a city.
Đ Mænn (1 year ago)
Love it
mxv 2015 (1 year ago)
Ya, really high price but you are paying for quality. This is waay cool!
Orfkip (11 months ago)
You're paying for the motor and battery, as single speed non-electric these type of bikes shouldn't go over 1000$.
alex pov (1 year ago)
где купить
Urban Cargo Bikes (1 year ago)
Sweet cargo bike! What are the updates on the 2018 version?
Chris at Propel (1 year ago)
In the states the bikes now have a slightly updated frame, but the big difference is the cargo bucket. It's more modular now so you can get it with or without a door and the top cover is optional now as well. If you have kids, the bucket now accomodates two benches as an option so you can carry up to 4 small children.
planetmikeus (1 year ago)
Arguably the best electric cargo bike on the market now. B&B provided an advanced geometry trike with high quality components. The NuVinci gear kit alone is typically over $500. Each electric bike should be put through a hill test. The breakthrough benefit for these bikes would be to encourage more non-bikers who live in hilly cities, like San Fran, Portland, Madrid, etc. to take up biking.
Michael Benoit (1 year ago)
What I’d do for bike lanes out in the burbs
Bestoink Dooley (1 year ago)
Just get a trailer for your bike. Way, way cheaper and it's detachable.
Chris at Propel (1 year ago)
Speaking from experience, it's definitely not the same. sure you can do it, but put any real weight in there and you're going to have a tough time. I've transported everything from 100-500lbs by bike and this thing works really well!
Kezzlekartz Kezzlekartz (1 year ago)
BUTCHERS AND BIKES DONT WORK TOGETHER AT ALL THATS WHAT IT LOOKS LIKE ,IT WAS BUTCHERED.IT NEEDS AN S SHAPE FROM THE TRIPLE TREE
Autumn Grace (1 year ago)
Going down a hill to a stop sign/light, depending on the weight in front...could be interesting if you have to stop hard at bottom of a hill. Other than that little fear, I really like it!!
james goodwin (1 year ago)
Perfect for me and my dog
Joey Love (1 year ago)
Awesomeness
Honky Tonk (1 year ago)
Oh my god this is the funnest bike of the whole channel.
pebre79 (2 years ago)
Cant wait for the prices to come down. These electric bikes look fun
Mark Kennedy (2 years ago)
Love the show. I bought a Neo Cross from Chris three years ago. Wonderful bike. Keep up the good work.
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Awesome, thanks for the good vibes Mark! More reviews on the way ;)
Rab H (2 years ago)
£4,850 quid for a bike and a box ..get a fucking life take one old peddle bike attach a box save a fucking fortune
chalo colina (2 years ago)
It sure is difficult to figure out anything a leaning trike does that a bike doesn't also do-- much more cheaply and with less weight and drag.
Uhuru Mkali (2 years ago)
Hang on! Chris smiling :D
ppatrick61 (2 years ago)
The new ride for, uber.
Le Lu (2 years ago)
Thanks a lot for the effort you put in all the reviews, really helpful.
Bertel Ingmar Bertelsen (2 years ago)
amazing bike!
j lin (2 years ago)
$4700 are you out head
Jason Jensen (1 year ago)
OMG! That's ALL? Great news! Looks perfect for my son with special needs and I so he can just ride along, since he can't keep focused nor make the best decisions still, at 8. Even if he makes sudden movements side to side, etc... we won't wipe out since all the added stability is up front. Thank you for posting the price you saw! :) Have a great day!
Guillaume Ballet (2 years ago)
Excellent review. I own a MK1-E for almost two years now and we're still pretty happy with it. As you said in your review this cargo bike is a real head-turner, and during the first months people were always talking to us at traffic lights here in Lyon, France. :D We've done around 3000km (1900 miles) and the bike is pretty reliable. We didn't have any serious issue during that time except a failure from one of the zipper of rain cover, which is pretty acceptable. I would never have bought a standard three-wheeler but the tilt function makes a HUGE difference. It takes few days to handle it properly but after that it's all about pleasure !
SFseis (2 months ago)
How do you swap the tube if you get a puncture?
Conor Hanley (1 year ago)
Guillaume Ballet thinking about buying one how is the range with the battery?
Pierre Léger (2 years ago)
Such a good review. I`ll link your video in my upcoming daily use review, because it explains all the details in a very good way. I would love to ride this bike in NYC! Greetings from germany.
Piercerson (2 years ago)
Pretty cool. I've been looking for a mid-drive cargo bike, but a trike never crossed my mind.
miguel watanabe (2 years ago)
Thank you for your videos, I really enjoy them. Can you recommend a bike shop in the Philadelphia PA area?
Tamas Varga (2 years ago)
Wow this is top quality! I know it's very expensive but in perspective a high spec mtb or road bike cost the same or more....
PATRICK MCKOWEN (2 years ago)
Very nice - price tag based on what I see out there is reasonable. Cheers, Patrick
Prius Dwelling (2 years ago)
Like that you put the parachute on Cort!
tan hock jun (2 years ago)
good review, BTW do you have a chance to review xiaomi Qicycle?
Ricky Lease (2 years ago)
Court nobody is carrying the Haibike urban plus here in Colorado. Hate to order one without riding it first. Love your videos. Hope you can review it real soon
jrmbtr (2 years ago)
Can you include base MSRP for your reviews? This would help weed out those that are out of reach.
Simon Hosking (2 years ago)
I've ridden these (in Australia). Awesome bike (trike?)!
OBSTRUCT CUBE SOCIETY (2 years ago)
Amazing machine, very expensive but it looks like it's very well engineered. Top quality !
k. m. (2 years ago)
wow! love everything about the bike.... except the price. ouch! guess I'll gerry rig pvc pipes to make mine....
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
A little bit of imagination and creativity goes a long way ;) post some pictures in the forum if you do, I'd love to check it out!
Propel Electric Bikes (2 years ago)
Had a lot of fun doing this one with you Court! Great job as always! -Chris
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Thanks bud! Had a great time zipping around (freezing) with you on these reviews :P
Murdercom (2 years ago)
I have those marathon plus tires they are so nice
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Nice, glad you like them! Any issues with flats so far?
Tonys6550 (2 years ago)
This is a cool looking bike man. As always an awesome review dude, All of your reviews are so personable and I look forward to every review you do, No matter what bike it's on👍 Keep up the good work man and ride safe.
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Thanks Tony! Glad you enjoy them, makes it worth the extra effort :D
through my eyes (2 years ago)
waaaaay too much $$$$ and may or may not be legal
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
It's a Class 1 electric bike, legal in the most situations and sold in several countries around the world, can even be ridden without a license if you don't have a car :)
per sebra (2 years ago)
The reviewer only weighs 135???  Somebody feed the guy!
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Haha! Yeah, seriously though... if I'm traveling through your town and you want to feed me dinner I'm in!
augsburg (2 years ago)
Wow! Super nice and well thought out cargo trike. Thanks for sharing.
John Caldwell (2 years ago)
wow! it looks like it was designed on an old co op delivery bicycle in the uk!
Jason Hacker (2 years ago)
ElectricBikeReview.com some old skool early trikes here and at the trades man's museum site pasted above https://triporteurs.wordpress.com/
Jason Hacker (2 years ago)
John Caldwell or the old GPO bikes https://tradesmansbike.wordpress.com/1919-triumph-number-2-gpo-carrier-tricycle/
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Might have been inspired by that! I haven't actually seen them, were they popular in the UK? Got a link?
Wayne Rhea (2 years ago)
wow 6000 I could buy bikes for my whole family.
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Yeah... or, you could carry your whole family with one bike or make a bike house like this! http://thetinylife.com/tiny-house-bike-trailers/ pretty sweet...
NYangryguy (2 years ago)
That thing is pretty awesome.
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
indeed ;)
Eastcoast Chef (2 years ago)
I've seen a guy with this fly by me here in Portsmouth NH on one of these with 2 kids on the front. I was pretty excited to meet another ebike person!
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Sweet! I think ebikes are starting to catch on, neat to see other people enjoying them more and more :D
Bob nieves (2 years ago)
that's the electric bike I am looking for so I can't get my grocery home. so I can stop taking a taxi.
Conor Hanley (1 year ago)
BOB NIEVES same here loool
Devo Grant (2 years ago)
BOB NIEVES yeah great for groceries,how good is it up hills?
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Might be the one! It's a lot of fun, faster and sportier than some of the rigid trikes I've tested, stakes some balance ;)
Javanbirdblue Russelling (2 years ago)
It is awesome! I know ingenuity and high quality come at an expensive price. Hopefully things like this really take off allowing the price to adjust so that common folk can consider this as viable. Very very nice though.
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Good point Javan, as they make more of these I could see the price coming down, it's a pretty special ebike :)
Richard Burnett (2 years ago)
A lot of thought and devotion had gone into this trike. This is a Portland dream boat but I can see it doing very well in urban areas with plenty cycle lanes, especially with businesses and deliveries. Very nice.
Richard Burnett (2 years ago)
ElectricBikeReview.com Portland maine is my closest one but I've heard about the cycling paradise in Oregon. :)
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Do you live in Portland? Wonderful city... lots of people on cycles and recumbents :)
Donald MacLeay (2 years ago)
What an excellent design! I'd like to see a more positive latch on the front door to keep cargo from spilling out. Also some ferules in the fender stay loops to keep them from loosening over time. Optional second battery. When bikes reach this weight and utility, a more powerful motor would be nice.
Cameron I (1 year ago)
It's possible that some folks live in very hilly/mountainous areas & need that extra oomf. It's also possible some folks have physical limitations that no amount of "getting in shape" can fix. In any case, the B&B website agrees with the original poster & is including a more powerful motor.
In Actis Esto Volucris (1 year ago)
Or just stop being lazy,get in shape. The motor is absolutely strong enough
Propel Electric Bikes (2 years ago)
In practice the latch holds up pretty well. They do have a pro version without the door for those that want to use the bike primarily for carrying cargo. For the battery, there is plenty of room to carry another one, maybe they will add the dual battery harness setup eventually. Maybe they'll also add the CX motor eventually, but I've never felt the performance motor to be lacking in torque. Maybe if I had much larger hills it would become a bigger factor.
David Macdonald (2 years ago)
That looks brilliant
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
I agree, excellent design and engineering
MBA NONI (2 years ago)
This bike looks like it's backwards
per sebra (2 years ago)
Yes. I like the delta look. Both my unfinished trikes are delta.
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Ha! Yeah, they call them "tadpole" trikes, here are some others I've reviewed recently: https://electricbikereview.com/category/trike/ the ones with two wheels in the back are called delta trikes
Bradley Suarez (2 years ago)
price?
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Hi Bradly, I always include the price and other specs back at the site which is listed as the first thing in the description of all videos, this one has a lot of options so the price varies but starts around $6k
Silly Wabbits (2 years ago)
Now that mofo is bad #@$, I want two please
walter merckx (2 years ago)
Silly Wabbits z
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Well said :P
Mark DeBarge (2 years ago)
So how is that working out in NYC where they are confiscating electric bikes now?
tikki volta (1 year ago)
what?! that is a special kind of stupid. "hey, we're transforming the inner city commute here- it's completely electric." - "FUUUCK YOU- we're confiscatn'." there's the occasional idiot who rides a custom 6000W monster and hurts people, but hey, so's the V8 driving moron that's always been there.
In Actis Esto Volucris (1 year ago)
I can't get it around my head,that US is so much behind on this area. Bikes are the way forward for any city around the globe- E-assisted bike or not
Joey Love (1 year ago)
That is insanely cool.
Gunnar René Øie (2 years ago)
Yeah it's really important that the precinct gives a good and factual briefing to the beat cops who are going to do the actual stops - that should hopefully prevent people with legal bikes from getting their bikes taken.
Propel Electric Bikes (2 years ago)
Frankly they have been targeting commercial riders primarily, but I have seen police specifically look for throttles and let riders go with pedal assist bikes. I know that some could make things up, but some are actually well informed. I wouldn't be surprised if some cops watch the video Court and I did. Although most NYPD I encounter in the shop are our customers and they're shopping for their personal bike.
George Herman (2 years ago)
It's kind of Dorky looking but very cool design. The leaning into turns is awesome. Overall this bike even at that price point seems justifiable. I wouldn't mind owning one. Very practical, useful Trike. Great review.
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Thanks George!
Eric Brooke (2 years ago)
so i seen a few ebikes reviews now and what i get from them is that there for supper rich people with to much time on there hands or if you want to scream to the world im gay as fuck. ill stick to my 10 speed
In Actis Esto Volucris (1 year ago)
Ebikes are a great solutions. Let's say a tiny female,4 kids going home from work and need to pick up all her toddlers. Ebikes are nice. They are massively and increasingly popular all over Europe and their cities. It is not just for "rich" people. They are for everybody and come in all prices-but as with all things,you want more comfort,you pay more. Many producers handmake these types of bikes and tyler them to the customers also
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
I think this is a teachable moment... people who discriminate and lash out tend to make less money. Perhaps if you become a nicer person you will be able to afford one of these ebikes! Until then, here are a few more affordably priced models with some in the $1k range https://electricbikereview.com/category/affordable/
ilikewasabe (2 years ago)
But that pivot though! id imagine me and my dog on descents on this thing! ooh lawd! pricey but man its a well thought out e-bike
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
That sounds fun, I bet your dog would love it! There are cheaper e-trikes out there, even cargo models, but they don't pivot unfortunately. Check this one out: https://electricbikereview.com/virtue-cycles/schoolbus-plus/
Not Sure (2 years ago)
awesome cargo trike.....callin out the 135 lol:) awesomer review
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Thanks! Doing my best ;)
Jonathan Gomez (2 years ago)
Great bike, love those cargo models... btw just realised today that you are actually traveling quite a bit to make those reviews, good job man👍
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
I haven't heard much lately, a Class 1 ebike like this should be fine. I shot this video while visiting NYC a while back: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=idZ5-4FZpTc
Lil Change (2 years ago)
ElectricBikeReview.com I like your Brooklyn friend, cool guy. Sad how they're cracking down on ebikes in NYC
ElectricBikeReview.com (2 years ago)
Thanks Juan! It's always exciting when the new year kicks off and all of these companies launch bikes. I travel pretty much nonstop filming then have to rest and process and post for a while... I've been to NYC and Southern California for the past couple of months but am hanging with family in Arizona and Colorado now to process and post... also launching a bunch of updates on the site including a new shop direct tool to help people find the places that sell ebikes from different brands so they can try them out: https://electricbikereview.com/shop-directory/ it's a lot of work but pretty exciting!